My method of getting (quality) Twitter followers

There are a lot of ways of getting Twitter followers. When Twitter allowed the option of auto-follow-back-those-who-followed-you, many spam accounts were created just so that reciprocation is met. And in fact, many lists were created for twitter accounts who auto-followback so that those who wants to increase their follower counts can add these fellows.

There are however some orthodox ways to get the kind of followers you are targetting. Twitter, like any website, thrives on the golden rule of creating good content.

-Follow followers of twitter users who are like you. Eg. you are a chef, find other chef twitter accounts and follow their followers.

-Use tags to tweet about topics you are interested in and soon people who are interested in your topics will find you.

-What if your intended audience do not check their following list very often? Doesn’t help that the official Twitter app does not allow you to approve/disappove followers. I have also found that retweeting their tweets with a personalized content is far more effective than sending them a direct message. My DM box is filled with hundreds of messages the moment I start mass following accounts. And it is no secret that twitter management apps and subscriptions out there is So retweeting with a personalized message would definitely make you stand out. Eg. Apple is fixing their antenna!! RT @yflcsandi iPhone 5 to have these features: http://post.ly/2Qzwv

yflcsandi_internet_marketing_singapore

yflcsandi_internet_marketing_singapore


-Add your twitter profile to a list on Twibes. You can add yourself up to 10 lists.
[20 July 2011]

-Make your own list, distribute it around on twibes/twitter/email/facebook and ask for contributions. “Anybody else you can think of to add to the list of ‘Singapore’s Food Bloggers’?”
[20 July 2011]

If you would like to build your followers very fast and crave on all the auto-followers I mentioned above, here are the lists I found:

**Please note that Twitter disabled their auto-followback function but these accounts might still be actively following back accounts manually.

http://socialnewswatch.com/top-twitter-users/
http://www.sebastienpage.com/2009/03/23/1001-twitter-users-follow-back/#comment-117106
http://www.graphicsms.com/blog/863-100-top-twitter-followback-lists/
http://assetebooks.com/social-media/top-10-twitter-follow-back-lists
http://www.webmastertalkforums.com/attachments/social-networks/125d1288007381-5461-huge-twitter-follow-back-list-follow-back-txt from http://www.webmastertalkforums.com/social-networks/14747-5461-huge-twitter-follow-back-list.html
http://www.lasnark.com/2009/03/29/get-more-twitter-followers-followback-party/3285
http://zubeta.com/FollowFriday.html
http://tomretterbush.posterous.com/top-225-most-influential-twitter-users-who-fo

17 responses to this post.

  1. […] Follow the followers of people who are like you to get more followers. July 19, 2011 // 0 Get more twitter followers. […]

  2. […] Tag your favorite topics to get more quality like-minded Twitter followers! July 21, 2011 // 0 Get more twitter followers. […]

  3. […] List of autofollow Twitter users who will follow you back no matter what. Well if they are still active accounts… July 23, 2011 // 0 Get more twitter followers. […]

  4. […] Retweets more effective than Direct Message for adding Twitter followers! July 27, 2011 // 0 Get more twitter followers. […]

  5. […] yourself to a Twibe list to get more presence! August 17, 2011 // 0 Get more twitter followers. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Categories […]

  6. kinda interesting and knowledgeable info. thanks!

  7. Currently it appears like BlogEngine is the preferred blogging platform available right now.
    (from what I’ve read) Is that what you’re using on your blog?

  8. And Then you can get word what invigorates your physical contacts to travel to your site a hacky
    clobber that we’ve constituted having got to do with JavaScript;
    not to demean those plugins at all because they’re fantastic.
    That is how of the things that hoi pollois ask.

  9. Wonderful, what a website it is! This web site presents helpful information to us, keep it
    up.

  10. Hello there! This article couldn’t be written much better!

    Reading through this post reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He constantly kept talking about this. I most certainly will forward this post to him.
    Fairly certain he will have a good read. Many thanks for sharing!

  11. Posted by Gloria Clifford on October 29, 2019 at 7:20 pm

    I am a professional blogger, and I value Twitter a lot. The reason I can say this proudly is because I use WizUgo [com] as my Twitter account automation tool. Wizugo is so amazing that I can schedule my tweets according to my desired time and I don’t need to be online all day for that too. A mobile-friendly awesome tool for Twitter.

  12. Posted by Marie Christine on December 10, 2019 at 5:47 pm

    The credit for my successful Twitter account goes to WizUgo [com]. I used to spend a lot of time on Twitter and still, I was not able to get a decent amount of followers. For the first time, I used Wizugo for my Twitter account automation, and it became the savior of my sinking account. Within a few weeks, I got a lot of active followers that like and comment on my pictures and videos that I tweet.

Leave a comment