The 5 Love Languages

As i was checking out all the love languages of Gary Chapman, i finally understood wad it means to be so secure in Jesus’ love for you that you overflow, have an outpour of love for others. IN THEIR love lang. 🙂 (not yours)

Let me tell you how I arrived. The 5 love languages. No matter how many times i did the quiz, something’s amiss. its like i cant really put my loving ways into these 5 boxes. “pick, choose one or two” was never going to work for me. The reason is because what i would feel as love when people express it to me is NOT how i would express it to others. so its not always true physical touch translates to love for me. if someone touched me, i would freeze. and i dont necessary like ANY-one to touch me (because touching has so much meaning to me, cant just share it w anyone right?) but then again, under certain conditions, i would touch to express love. Tilts head to one side in puzzlement. So its very weird…. So then right there and then I realise that how you want to be loved is NOT how you show your love and this is probably true for everyone. So then how does people know how to show you love if not learnt from how you show love to others? For example, you constantly buy presents for your husband, he thinks its how you receive love, so he’s been wrecking his brains all week to get you something priceless too, not knowing you think he’s the world’s sexiest when he tells you you look beautiful despite not having your eyelash extensions on. Everyone’s love language is so different from each other (yes even between soul mates) and so tailored to each others’ individuality its impossible take down mental notes of how to perfect your expression of love for another’s love language. So you see there is no perfect world. The only perfect work was done at the cross. Only His love is perfect for you and to you. Then I see it, to be so secure and fed so fully in JESUS’ LOVE for me that it overflows to others, and that, my friend, is how you can always speak your loved ones’ love languages. It is no then, no longer about you and how YOU want to be loved. It is outpouring, an overflow of love through you. You are the channel, the vessel of which love comes from. And love comes from the Savior. Not your partner, your BFF (best friends forever), or even your parents. If you have ever read the Bible, especially the New Testament and you search for the word “love”, you’ll be amazed to find out how the Bible literally records many verses of how love came from the Father (He loved us and therefore we love —(others)) and was shown at the cross, and how Jesus is our love gift from the Father. His crucifixion was the greatest display of love ever. I mean like, ever and forever, even until now and very definitely in the future.

My love lang to others, lets see.
telling others how appreciative i am of their individuality (oh i like that on myself too), letting them know im thinking of them by constant contact. physical touch (depends on comfort level). acts of service.

Love lang I am uncomfortable with for receiving -acts of service (do you see the irony?!??!)
love for peeps to tell me how much they love me. or how good i look or i am. i think i can get used to that.
love when spend time tog spontaneously, uninhibited, doing crazy stuff, traveling together (can be like holidays or just taking walks and sharing), just chilling and talking. Traveling off together has a very intimate meaning for me.

Love Language is not written in stone, not mine or yours. We constantly explore ourselves and develop senses of love language we like or dislike. So keep learning! About Jesus of course *winkie*

P/S: Cos we are made in the image of Him. 🙂 We are made in HIS image.

//update nov 15//
Gifts.
My love lang to others is to buy VERY expensive gifts that they like or need, the most expansive range in the category that I think they would like or need. When others want to give me I hope its more like a physical representation of their thoughts and love for me. For example, they know I like to drink water, and they prepare some before meeting me. Or giving me some food from the house when I give them a ride. Or they saw this item in the store and thought of me. Aw how sweet. When you want to say thank you, its much more appreciated by me if its expressed with gift, to me la 😛 Or play with my soft toys/things/toys.

Leave a Reply

