Recently, I felt guilty, and I apologized to a friend.

Recently, I felt guilty, and I apologized to a friend. The God reminded me of the story of King David, who sinned. He killed Bathsheba’s husband because he wanted the girl, he made up lies, he committed adultery with Bathsheba. And yet when Nathan confronted him, he said, “I have sinned against the Lord.” Only after he confessed his sin, the Lord rained punishment on Him. Therefore, today, only after you realise you are a sinner, only are you able to accept the sacrificial lamb son of the Living God Jesus Christ. But that’s not my point.

So I realise David did not apologize to Nathan (the rebuker), to the people he harmed (Bathsheba and her late husband), to the warriors and messengers he made use to carry out this sin with deceit, to his firstborn with Bathsheba (striked down to atone for David’s sin). His apology was to the Lord. And to the Lord only. And even his confession of sin was sin towards the Lord, not towards the people. He said, “I have sinned against the Lord.” (2 Samuel 12:13)

So sometime I tend to apologize or feel condemned so easily, not realising the world doesn’t really want to have the power to forgive you. We are embarrassed when someone apologise to us. Sometimes I think I would rather not have you do me wrong than a thousand apologies. God has the power to forgive you. In fact, when you know you are forgiven by God, apologizing to people wouldn’t come with all that emotional baggage and accepted with much more grace. Real apology comes from knowing you are forgiven first.

Leave a Reply

