Wind…Snow…Jacket…

Hello everyone,

Forgive if I hadn’t talked much about the snow and make it sound less like Buffalo. The truth is, there is snow on the floor everyday and I’m getting used to it. In fact it looks kinda nice out of my window. But when you’re going to walk on the snow and you can’t see the ground, be prepared to take staggered steps.

People ask me, “is it cold?” Well. Yes and no. Yes definitely colder than Singapore. I don’t know how to tell you because I have devised ways to 1) insulate myself 2) get used to it. Another way is to tell you about the temperature. The temperature is always below 0 degrees these 2 weeks that I have been here. The lowest was -13 or -18 degrees I can’t remember. I remember staying home that day.

I did learn a new word for Buffalo’s weather though : Wind Chills. THESE ARE DEADLY CHILLY WIND THAT PENETRATES THRU EVERY PORE OF YOUR SKIN TO YOUR INNER BONES AND FREEZE YOUR GUTS. Sometimes you have to stand still to let the wind pass thru. You can’t move because the wind not only freeze your guts, but ice your face and constructs a wall against your knees, for the split second. Nods. Strong wind.

Your eyelids tell you when the wind has passed so you can see again.

So I have gotten myself a wind-proof jacket from EMS. I think we have probably heard of a windbreaker and I always wonder why do we need that and isn’t it just like any other regular piece of jacket except it doesn’t really keep you warm. Thing is, it doesn’t, it keeps your skin from the attacks of the wind.


I actually look cool in the jacket not described by this picture.

So after I put it on, true enough, the wind settles on my skin like cooling condensation. Mind you, I have a sweater underneath. This jacket acts like a shell on top of my sweaters and thermal wear and is waterproof. So I can go skiing with this!

And then I got wind proof pants too. So I can walk in the wind, dressed down, without carrying too much denim weight on me.

“Most of the time, it’s the wind that gets you,” the guy in the shop said. Totally agree.

I can also talk a lot about the snow. There are brown snow, black snow, lumpy pieces of mud which are actually snow with mud, and the smooth white surface most dreaded by pedestrians. The roads usually do not accumulate snow because cars go by them and they become camouflaged with the tar. Tires gets cleaned in them, so they become unclean.

The snow you see on smooth surface, the ones that has a shape of an odd prism like those of sand on the deserts seen only by a person coming from the tropics, the ones that looks so thick you groan because you wonder how deep your boots are going to sink before hitting concrete.

The wind makes snow on the ground look pretty. Especially when they wist snow up for a twirl around the ice. And the next minute, another handful of snow gets lifted for a twirl. It’s almost as if they’re dancing the dance that exchanges partners.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by monica on April 9, 2008 at 8:06 pm

    interesting pix of your jacket. may i steal it away from you? lol…

  2. Posted by yflcsandi on April 9, 2008 at 9:06 pm

    no! haha.

Leave a Reply

