Answering my own question.

Ever wanted to wake up with nothing on your mind to do? Not having to worry about payments, or the water boiling, or tasks to complete, exams to study for, homework to ace…? Calls to make? Appointments to keep?

The answer lies in knowing how loved you are that all these seem small enough to be taken care of by itself.

You wake up with one thing in mind. Knowing you are deeply loved by the Almighty. You have his 100% approval in all your adventures and decisions. All your works are His tasks. When you fall, his Grace drapes you in light. Your spirit feels lighter and joyful because you seek the Lord. He comes to you, “reconciling you to Himself, not imputing your trespass to you.” (2 Corinthians 5:19), with arms wide open welcoming you like the father of the prodigal son.

I remember the very first time I went to church. It was Bardy lo, who else. It was a church service in disguise of Easter Day celebration. At least that was what I thought then. I came out muddled and feeling a tad cheated. I don’t remember much of what happened except an illustration the preacher gave. He said God *or whoever* will remove your sins until it’s a clean white sheet of paper, with not even a spot on it. I remember it was quite a popular illustration at that time. However I didn’t get it. The main reason was because I did not see myself as a sinner. Why would I need to be “a white sheet of paper?” I questioned myself.

Today, I see the power of having saved as tremendously overpowering. Its not a matter of having sins or not, having more sins or less sins than others, or having no sins at all. It’s the idea that you are saved for every sin you made, make, will make, and for every sin that you did not make, made, will not make. Free stuff you want? Free stuff guaranteed for life you want? It’s like getting insured for life for everything. Like a free life policy. Waiting to be received. The Old Testament teaches that everyday is living sinning, whether you realize it or not; and that Man’s sin is caused by one person—Adam. No one is completely righteous unless in Jesus’ name. The day you realized how much you’re saved, that’s the day you find yourself furthest away from sin. God’s works simply take us further than we thought we could have gotten, whether we realize we’re sinners or not.

I find it useful in everyday life that when I feel guilty about some tiny act/thought I made, probably insignificant to anyone but me, I can whip out God’s gift of Righteousness from somewhere in my breast pocket and apply it on the sin. Like applying lip balm. My spirit heals by feeling refreshed, energized and I walk in stride again. “As we walk in the light, as He is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus, his Son, purifies us from all sin.”1 John 1:7

Leave a Reply

